When I woke up yesterday I turned on GMA as usual while I got ready for work. On the way to work I tuned in to NPR and by the time I arrived at the office I was well informed on all things depressing. I’ve never been one to quote Marilyn Manson but he once said,

“The media is just this campaign of fear, and consumption, and that’s what I think it’s all based on, the whole idea of ‘keep everyone afraid, and they’ll consume”

Before beginning Monday morning prayer with my favorite people, the Rock Church staff, I found myself weighed down with fear over the state of the world these days. As I began to talk to God I thought of the scripture I always think of when it comes to fear, “God hasn’t given us the spirit of fear but of power love and a sound mind.” Instead of just quoting it this time I decided to actually take the verse apart. So standing in the corner of the room with my face to the wall I pulled out my trusty prayer tool, my iPhone, and searched Websters Dictionary for the word “Sound.” It is most simply defined as “Deep and undisturbed.” That was all I needed to hear. 

God created us in His image with the ‘Sound’ mind of Christ. We were created to be beings who are deep rooted and undisturbed like a tree uneasily swayed. The info that floods our eyes and ears like a storm every day has the potential to drown us in fear. It is crucial that we as Christ-Followers remind ourselves constantly that God has never given us fear. The world gives us fear but God has already given us the counter part of a deep and undisturbed mind. The storms are coming. The world is looking for shelter. The shelter they run to will be one that is unshaken. Will we be ready?

