My incredible boss gave me a day off today. I must say Monday’s are a great day to have off.

I didn’t do much today, and yet it was so much more than I could’ve done if I’d tried. Weird I know, yet so much seems to be achieved in the ease of doing nothing at all. I spent much of the day with a cup of coffee in my hand and a smile on my face. I hung out with my good friend John and we went where the wind carried us. Our conversations seemed to be the only thing of lasting value in this day. They’re sure to last longer than the caffeine in my blood or the new ten dollar shades I got from Target. Nothing I did today was calculated. It was as unplanned for me as the rain that fell around noon only to last for about an hour. Did I have a productive day? Not to some, but to me emphatically YES. I come alive in ways and on days that I least expect. It’s as though I were formed with nothing more than communion in mind. Created to live without striving. What a thought. A productive day for my spirit is worth far more than one for my flesh. There were moments today when I felt I was wasting my day. Like when I stopped to watch the rain and think of my God. I imagine Mary battled the same brief thoughts as she wasted her perfume on the feet of Jesus. Hmm…

