Anyone out there ever feel like you should be much farther along than you are now? Ever wonder if God created you to meet a certain amount of spiritual goals and affect a certain amount of people before you die? These thoughts make me feel like somewhere I’ve missed the opportunity to fit the perfect Tetris piece and I’ve been playing catch up ever since. I am convinced, as of late, that God’s intention for my existence was never to fill a spiritual quota, but simply to fall into a stride beside Him no faster than a walk.

The story of Adam & Eve never seems to get old, just a little more intriguing the older you get. In chapter 3 of Genesis, I believe we see a little more clearly the reason God made us humans. In verse 8, we find the Lord God walking in the garden during the cool of the day calling out for Adam while he and his better half hide their recently clothed selves among the trees.

Why were they hiding?

How did they know they were in the buff?

Why did they cover themselves?

These are valid questions that’ll take you down some fascinating rabbit holes. What I want to know though, is how often Adam & Eve got to take a stroll with the Lord God. Was it every day!? What did they talk about? Did they tell any jokes like, “So a man walks into a bar…?” In light of the fact there was not yet sin, I think it’s pretty safe to say they weren’t discussing how Adam would change the world or go into all of it and preach the gospel. God probably wasn’t doing any marriage counseling either. It seems evident to me that Adam wasn’t made to change the world, nor was he created to serve God in ministry.

Adam was formed from the dust of the ground for no greater reason than to walk and talk with God.

Sounds way to simple, I know. What about my gifts and my callings? What about my desires to become a pastor, a counselor, a teacher? What about my ministry? We were each created with unique gifts, callings, desires and talents, but there is one common purpose that runs like a thread through all of mankind, communion with our Creator. Our lives in ministry amount to nothing more than human efforts if we haven’t first taken a stroll with our God. In our feverish attempts to catch up to where we think God wants us to be in life, we find ourselves no longer walking with God but running alone. I have felt the weariness of running alone. I’ve learned the hard way that it is through waiting on the Lord and setting my pace to His that I will ever run without growing weary.

God isn’t angry at you for not performing. He isn’t disappointed because of unmet expectations. You weren’t created to change the world, but rather walk with God as He changes it. When is the last time you watched the sun rise or set, or walked in the cool of the day with God? Let’s stop running, slow down and just take a walk.

